Route 8 - I Can’t

LT004. After dropping the amazing Eleda EP on Greek label Nous, Budapest’s Route 8 returns with a new 12” of textured house experimentation. The Dry Thoughts EP is out now on upstart UK label Lobster Theremin. Lead track ‘I Can’t’ sees moody pads swirling around stunning drum programming. Starting with the unbelievable Equation EP by Palms Trax from last fall, the label has began with a very impressive string of releases. 

Video by Hurfyd.

NGLY - Service Cost HH2

LIES 19.5. Forthcoming L.I.E.S. white label, following now iconic 12”s from Bookworms, Terekke and Florian Kupfer. Berlin’s NGLY brings this rolling techno hybrid, just unstoppable once it gains steam with those crushed hi-hats. This one feels like a return to roots of sorts for Ron Morelli’s label. Also, be sure to check out NGLY’s amazing recent contribution to the shadowy Russian Torrent Versions imprint.

Anthony Naples - Perro

Real nice to see another Anthony Naples release on the Trilogy Tapes, home of the unbelievable El Portal EP from last year. The label helmed by Will Bankhead is arguably the most exciting on the planet at the moment. ‘Perro’ is an extended piece of deep grooves, along the lines of Naples’ recent compositions on his own Proibito label. The new EP is forthcoming in May.

Axel Boman - Purple Drank

This iconic Axel Boman track has recently been repressed, so we figured it was a good time to revisit it. ‘Purple Drank’ brings a sinister bassline coupled with that unmistakable vocal line. From the Holy Love 12”, released August 2010 on DJ Koze’s Pampa label. This release more or less launched Boman’s career, which reached a new level with last years Family Vacation LP. Check out the rest of the Pampa 12” here

Mr. Fingers - Can You Feel It

This foundational deep house track was (astonishingly) released back in 1986 on the ever influential Chicago label, Trax Records. We can’t get over how relevant it sounds today. Nothing but feel good vibes from that chunky bassline and bright string synth pads.  Also check out this great interview with Larry Heard for RBMA. So inspiring how humble he is.

Erosion Flow - Bedroom Jam

Massive swing on this clean dancefloor bomb from Denmark’s Erosion Flow, the latest release on George Fitzgerald’s ManMakeMusic imprint. Fits real nicely alongside previous releases from Laszlo Dancehall. Danish house is making quite an impression these days.

Odd Numbers - Piper’s Delight

Beautiful track from Odd Numbers, the newest project from WIllie Burns, who makes up the group along with Secret Circuit and Suzanne Kraft. So easy to get lost in the soft guitar line and hypnotic percussion. ‘Piper’s Delight’ is a major summer tune. This release comes off Burns’ amazing release for Unknown to the Unknown, and is getting released on Rush Hour Records in May.

Unknown Artist - Untitled

Raw and exciting dance track from an unknown Vancouver (?) artist. The latest release on DC label Future Times, FT021. ‘Make it hot!’

Khotin - You Could Feel The Sky

Bright summer vibes on this sublime deep house track from Khotin. Love those pitched breaths. From the Vitebsk 12”, out now on Edmonton label Normals Welcome. Check out the whole release here.

Leon Vynehall - It’s Just (House of Dupree)

Leon Vynehall has a great talent for producing unique, memorable house tracks. Following some amazing releases in 2013, his dropped the 2x12” mini-album ‘Music For The Uninvited’ this week on Martyn’s 3024 label. This signals a maturation of sorts in his sound, balancing swinging dancefloor bombs with more subtle tracks. ‘It’s Just (House Of Dupree)’ definitely falls into the former category. Preview the whole release here. Very inspiring music.

Ajukaja & Andrevski - Rare Birds 

Elevated experimental house from UK label Levels. The cascading, detuned synth melodies and sharp claps highlight lead track ‘Rare Birds’. The track is complimented with this nostalgia tinged video. Check out the whole release here. The B-side cuts are also amazing. This follows up Levels 001 by Lord Tusk.

Galcher Lustwerk - Nu Day EP

Galcher Lustwerk follows up his killer White Material release with this ultra laid back, vinyl only EP on UK label Tsuba Limited. The third and fourth tracks showcase the ex-hip hop artists’ vocal talents. Be sure to check his Resident Advisor mix from last week, its full of unreleased material.

Monolithium - Motive

Nice, clean techno inspired roller from Victoria artist Monolithium. ‘Motive’ starts out with a subdued, syncopated shuffle, and gains pace into a blistering dancefloor killer. From MM003, the latest release from Calgary label Modern Math, following great EPs from Sanctums and Michael Red. Check out the rest of the EP here

House of Doors - Bicameral Mind (Max D Mix)

Serious release from Mood Hut's House of Doors, who is also a member of Aquarian Foundation. ‘Bicameral Mind’ is proper, expansive house. From the FT019 split 12”, with another Aquarian Foundation member Kinetic Electronix, out now on Future Times. Label owner Maximillion Dunbar lends his help here in the mixdown. 

Kassem Mosse - Untitled (A2)

German artist Kassem Mosse quietly dropped his debut album over the weekend, as it simply appeared on the Hardwax site. Released on his usual home, Workshop Records, the double LP contains nine untitled tracks of killer house excursions. ‘A2’ in particular stands out, with that mutating soft lead synth. Amazing album.