Hodge - Flashback

HOTLINE005. Hotline back in action with Hodge, who is fresh off an unreal 12” on Livity Sound sublabel Dnuos Ytivil. The glimmering energy of ‘Flashback’ makes this one a must buy. This track will no doubt whip audiences into a frenzy. Also be sure to check out the stomping A side cut ‘Mind Games’. This 12” should further cement Hodge as one of the most intriguing artists out there. It’s a nice follow-up to some great records for the label by artists such as Commodo and DJ Sotofett. Hotline releases records quite seldomly, so when they do it’s always memorable. Can’t wait to get this one in the mail!

The very nice accompanying video is by Max Pearce, C26 & Camila Carrillo.

Austin Cesear - La Paloma

Bright, gliding new track from Brooklyn artist Austin Cesear. The patient ‘La Paloma’ centres on a chunky repetitive lead synth line, which sounds almost aquatic when the track hits its crescendo. Love those gentle skips as well. Cesear put out a very nice record earlier this year on Proibito that somehow flew under the radar. Criminal really, since '1 Year' is probably one of this years strongest house tracks. The ‘West Side’ LP drops next week on UK label Public Information. This will be his second album for the label, after 2012’s 'Cruise Forever'.

This very pleasant on the eyes video was directed by Paul Clipson.

Lnrdcroy - I Met You on BC Ferries

Lnrdcroy’s wonderful 'Much Less Normal' cassette was released back in May on Vancouver label 1080p, who have put together a real impressive string of releases since launching just over a year ago. For Lnrdcroy (aka Leon Campbell), the tape came fresh off a very memorable split 12” on formidable Montreal techno imprint Forbidden Planet. The gentle, euphoric gem ‘I Met You On BC Ferries’ tugs at the heart strings with its glossy pads and nuanced drum programming. One of 2014 most striking tracks, it gives hope for all of us in the Pacific Northwest that love can be found on a 90 minute boat ride : )

Lnrdcroy plays at NFF14 on Friday September 19 at 9:30pm. It will be a live set, followed by a live performance from Cloudface. For a preview, check out his debut live set from a local night called Hotline this past June. Also of note is this great recent interview with Juno Plus. ~~~

Young Braised - Life Is Good

Cool, collected urban music from Vancouver artist Young Braised. The very clever ‘Life is Good’ shows the rapper (Jaymes Bowman irl) in fine form with its buoyant, celebratory spirit. From his much acclaimed 1080p tape from last summer, 'Japanese Tendencies'. Amazing video treatment here by Will Wilkinson and Strawberry Jacuzzi.

Also, a very good opportunity to revisit the first single from the album— the timeless, exotic ballad 'Murakami'. Mr. Braised is set to perform at New Forms Festival on Thursday September 18. He’ll take the stage alongside visual artist Soledad Muñoz at 11:30pm, right before Stones Throw legend Madlib!

Manuel Gonzales & Ramon Ramirez - Blowout 

BH011. Killer new release forthcoming on shadowy UK imprint Berceuse Heroique. Specializing in limited run 12”s, the label has amassed an impressive string of raw techno records in the past year from the likes of and Gesloten Cirkel and Breaker 1 2. Here Detroit artist Manuel Gonzales (aka MGUN) opts to go by his given name alongside newcomer(?) Ramon Ramirez. The tense and oddly soothing ‘Blowout’ centres around a beautiful weighty kick amid elegant strings. The recent NGLY white label on LIES comes to mind here. Don’t sleep on this one.

Video by Dro Carey.

Auscultation - Wave Rejection

From the self-titled debut release by Auscultation, the latest project from Joel Shanahan, the Wisconsin artist best known for his contributions to 100% Silk under the Golden Donna moniker. Released last week on 1080p, it glides nicely into the tape label’s catalogue with its blend of playful, careening energy and sophisticated production. Glimmers of dance music and saturated internet warmth characterize the 7 tracks that span the cassette.

'Wave Rejection' is a triumphant, seductive bounce, complimented by this vivid, kaleidoscopic video by Italian artist Federico Cosci. Other highlights from the tape include ‘Automated Jade’, with its chunky textured grooves, and the shimmering deep house of ‘Ash’. Another compelling release from 1080p and a complimentary follow up to Lnrdcroy’s ‘Much Less Normal’ tape, one of our favourite releases so far this year.

Ninos Du Brasil - Sombra Da Lua

Italian duo Ninos du Brasil bring this stirring, intense percussive piece. 'Sombra da Lua' builds with style until tribal vocals lead into a raucous breakdown. From the very compelling Novos Mistérios LP, released last month on Hospital Productions. 

Beautifully hypnotic video directed by Carlos Casas.

Theo Parrish - Footwork

The don Theo Parrish comes correct with this lead track from his forthcoming LP on his own Sound Signature imprint. Everything he does at this point continues to cement his legend status, nearly 20 years into his career. We (of course) loved his 12” from earlier this year for the Trilogy Tapes / Sound Signature.

Directed by Heather Sommerfield.

Evy Jane - Closer

Ever since they released 'Sayso', back in 2012, we’ve been looking forward to hearing more from Vancouver duo Evy Jane. Released on Canadian label King Deluxe, the song was a striking piece of modern RnB. Today they announced a forthcoming EP with Ninja Tune, and shared this wavy video for the icy, textured ‘Closer’.

Video by Strawberry Jacuzzi.

Ajukaja & Andrevski - Rare Birds 

Elevated experimental house from UK label Levels. The cascading, detuned synth melodies and sharp claps highlight lead track ‘Rare Birds’. The track is complimented with this nostalgia tinged video. Check out the whole release here. The B-side cuts are also amazing. This follows up Levels 001 by Lord Tusk.